top of page

Pushing Through The Excuses

12:03am, I walk into Plan B and welcome Friday into existence by dancing my booty off. I left and already had 3,000+ steps and 35 minutes of "active minutes".

10:03am, I have to run down to Camp Randall to deliver a brick for them that we had to redo. Of course I tell them I know exactly where I'm going; even though I've never stepped foot in the stadium. I park and begin my walk to find the mason installing them. Just my luck...I started in the wrong direction and walked around the entire stadium just to find he was a few hundred feet from my car if I went the other way to begin with.

11:45am, I get back to the shop and work with a customer on picking out a boulder for their house. We spend 2 hours outside walking back and forth between boulders talking about engraving options.

3:04pm, Yahoo email kept going down and I got sick of dealing with it so I help rearrange the granite in the production studio. We need to build a custom engraving booth for some 8' tall pillars. I helped move around 30,000lbs of granite.

5:45pm, I arrive home and collapse on my bed. Over 11,000 steps and now 45 minutes of "active minutes" have been logged on my Fitbit. I begin to make excuses and reasons why I don't need to workout.

"I've been more active today than any other day at work"

"I already did my weight training moving all that granite"

"I didn't get enough sleep last night and am too tired"

"Hell...it's Friday and a holiday weekend!"

6:30pm, I push play on my 20 Minute Body DVD and being my 4x4 workout. I'm sore, cranky, tired, bitching about having to workout.

6:35pm, I realize those thoughts have been pushed from my brain and I'm 100% dialed into the program. I focus on each move, each change in pace, my form, my technique, and my breathing. I have never felt so "in the zone" before when I've tried to workout. It hit me...I stood up to my excuses and my fears about not doing a good enough job because of those excuses. I pushed through the pain and sweat to earn my night of relaxation. I've earned my portioned size glass of red wine. I've earned the right to cross off the "4x4" box on my workout schedule.

7:03pm and 19 hours later...(photo documented) I've done things I never imagined and conquered my fears of failing. Results are never given for free; they are earned. A motto Brett (my very attractive Brazilian DVD workout stud) shares during each workout sesh and I can already feel/see the results of my sweat and pain.

I am strong enough to do this.

You are strong enough to do this or anything you want. Just believe in yourself and the goals you've set forth on accomplishing.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page