top of page

Off We Go!

Well...here goes nothing; or everything depending on how you look at life. I started this week off by getting up early on Monday Aug 8th with the intent on creating a new beginning for myself, based on the followings of The Miracle Morning. Little did I know by 6pm that night I would be in the process of ending my 4+ year relationship with someone whom I still love dearly. Life just had a different plan for both of us.

So that leads me to here. What is Beyond The Building? Well, it is my adventure to show the world that there is more to life than just living/working/playing "inside". I'm a 26 year old college graduate with the desire to explore and experience life. I've had my fair share of material things and have found that I long for experiences that push me to grow as a human. I also have a desire to share those experiences with the world as I feel everyone can learn something from them. With that idea, Beyond The Building is my outlet for showcasing my push towards a full-time RV living lifestyle. Yup, you read that right. Full-time RV living (the kind your grandparent buy and retire in). Why THIS particular lifestyle? Well for many reasons.

  1. I've always been interested in a "tiny house" but the thought of being physically staked down at one location forever is scary. Big picture, an RV is just a tiny house on wheels!

  2. I'm a millennial with a crap ton of student debt. This is a huge burden on my finances and life goals...but it's also more than that. If I'm scared shitless about paying back 40K worth of student loans...the idea of owing a bank $200,000 or more...makes me want to hide in a closet (trust me, I really don't wanna go back there). So investing in a lightly used RV, tossing a couple thousand in renovations/upgrades, and living a debt free life while traveling the United States/world seems like a better use of my time and money.

  3. I am 26 with very few strings to tie me down. Lets be honest for a second. Since the days of high school I have been a serial dater. I've been in a few long term relationships (2+ years each) and when one ends, I find another one within a few months. Have a learned a lot about myself, who I want to be, where I want to go in life? Oh hell yeah and I value each and every relationship I've had. But at the end of the day, Brandon is not happy with himself and until I can do that ALONE...I won't be any good to a future husband.

  4. Looking very macro...we are a tiny speck in this universe. There is other life in the universe but right now we only know about planet earth, and even our own home has so much to offer. Since humans seem to put the exploration of space on the furtherest back burner...I'm going to push that desire forward and use it to explore the wonderful habitat we have now. Until I can hop on a starship and warp to Vulcan, I'll settle for rubber on asphalt.

  5. Lastly and I think most importantly...I'm a weirdo who actually finds it hard to give up some of my weirdness to live with someone else full-time. Does this relate to my relatively small time as a single gay man? Oh yeah it does. However, its a little larger than that. As someone that puts others needs before my own, I've stopped caring about the things most important to me. This desire to grab the wheel of my own life and point it in the direction I want, without having to "report" to someone really drives me towards this lifestyle/goal.

So with that in mind...Beyond The Building is going to be my home base for everything and anything related to my life, progress towards my goal, and just an unfiltered outlet for my thoughts. I hope you stick around, read a bit, and learn something about me or yourself.

More to come :D

-Brandon

Devil's Lake State Park, 2015


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page